Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


As an Ofsted registered setting our nursery curriculum is set using the guidelines from the Early Years Foundation Stage document. This document forms the basis for education from birth to five. It states that education should be put into practice four principles:

  1. A Unique child
  2. Positive Relationships
  3. Enabling environments
  4. Learning and Development

Within the last principle are areas of learning which form the basis of curriculum planning and indicate the progress which children can be expected to make. These areas of learning finish at the end of reception class, when children are assessed against ‘Early Learning Goals’.

Areas of learning

Your child will mostly be taught through play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Each Room Leader takes time to consider various factors such as children’s interests, current affairs, available resources, celebrations and events when planning the play based learning sessions for the children. They share their ideas with the other leaders so that these experiences can be enjoyed across the nursery with various aged children.  Each week we use our previous assessment (observations of the children) to create “Next Steps” which highlight skills and activities that will bring the children on in their areas of development. Activities are differentiated to make sure each child is given an appropriate challenge.